Today's date is: May 23, 2017
PAB Site
PAB Home About the PABStaff DecisionsGAOLOC Annual Report Guides to Practice• Employment Law• Labor-Management Relations PAB Regulations EEO Oversight Contact PAB Directions to PAB
PAB/OGC
About PAB/OGC Charges/Filing Prohibited Personnel Practices Discrimination Hatch Act Unfair Labor Practices Union Representation Proceedings Forms Contact PAB/OGC Privacy
Mediation
Guidelines Pamphlet


Filing a Prohibited Personnel Practice Charge with PAB/OGC

Who May File

A GAO employee, applicant for employment, former employee, or labor organization of the GAO may file a charge if they believe a prohibited personnel practice has occurred or is about to occur.

When to File

A person must file a charge relating to an adverse or performance-based action within 30 days after the effective date of the action or, if the charge relates to other personnel actions, within 30 days after the effective date of the action or 30 days after the charging party knew or should have known of the action.  An employee may file a charge relating to a continuing violation at any time. 

How to File

A charge may be filed in person at:

PAB Office of General Counsel
Room 1562
441 G Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20548

A charge may be filed by mail addressed to:

PAB Office of General Counsel
U.S. Government Accountability Office
441 G Street, N.W.
Room 1562
Washington, D.C. 20548

What to File

A written charge must be filed with PAB/OGC.  A charge may be submitted in any written form (letter, memorandum, etc.).  However, to ensure that the charge contains sufficient information, we strongly suggest that charges be filed using the PAB Office of General Counsel Charge Form.  You may obtain this form by clicking on the link or by calling (202) 512-7507.

 

For further information on procedures after a charge is filed with the PAB/OGC, see What Happens After a Charge is Filed?